Main Menu

Explore More

Mental Health Support Services

During this time of uncertainty, it is important that our students and families know that the district's mental health support staff are available for questions and support.

Support staff will be available Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m.-3:30 p.m. for preschool to grade 5 and 7:45 a.m.-2:15 p.m. for grades 6-12. Contact staff via phone call, email or Google Meet (live video chat). We are here for you, so please do not hesitate to reach out! See contact information below.

There will be lots of questions and unknowns in the coming weeks, but we will do our best to support each other.

Take care!

Your School Social Workers, Counselors and Psychologists
St. Francis Area Schools

Reasons to Connect

  • Mental health support
  • Concerns with your child’s social, emotional or behavioral needs
  • Ideas for stress management for your child or family
    • Self-care help
  • Struggling to meet the distance learning expectations (attendance, engagement, overall performance)
  • Academic and organizational tools
  • Counselor Schoology pages (SFMS and SFHS)
  • Assistance with basic needs
    • SFMS Caring Closet
  • Planning for the future (SFHS and SFLC students)

Contact information for Mental Health Support Staff

School Counselors and Social Workers

Early Childhood Family Center (ECFC) 

Tiffany Ranz
CCES, ECFC & Districtwide School Psychologist
tiffany.ranz@isd15.org
763-213-8833 (leave a voicemail) 

Melissa Denning
Parent Educator
melissa.denning@isd15.org
763-753-7178


St. Francis Elementary School (SFES)

Joni Bircher, MA Ed, LICSW
SFES General Education School Social Worker
joni.bircher@isd15.org
763-213-8759

Jessica Marsolek
SFES Special Education School Social Worker
jessica.marsolek@isd15.org
612-412-4885


Cedar Creek Elementary School (CCES)

Peter Dols
CCES General Education School Social Worker
peter.dols@isd15.org
763-213-8861 (leave a voicemail)

Jennifer Norstrem
CCES Special Education School Social Worker
jennifer.norstrem@isd15.org
763-213-8844 (leave a voicemail)


East Bethel Elementary School (EBES)

Tim O’Connell
EBES General Education School Social Worker
tim.oconnell@isd15.org
763-213-8944 (leave a voicemail)

Megan Stearns
EBES Special Education School Social Worker
megan.stearns@isd15.org
763-213-8905

School Counselors and Social Workers

St. Francis Middle School (SFMS)

Morgan Costley
SFMS School Counselor (last names A-L)
morgan.costley@isd15.org
763-213-8619 (leave a voicemail)

Lindsay Pakola
SFMS School Counselor (last names M-Z)
lindsay.pakola@isd15.org
763-213-8535

Or you can fill out this referral form and a counselor will contact you as soon as possible.

Scott Kruger
SFMS Special Education School Social Worker
scott.kruger@isd15.org
763-213-8684

SFMS Virtual Calming Room

St. Francis High School (SFHS)

Jaymie Helle
SFHS School Counselor - Last names A-Ha
jaymie.helle@isd15.org
Click here to set up a Google Meet
763-290-0039

Anna Ruel
SFHS School Counselor -  Last names He-O
anna.ruel@isd15.org
Click here to set up a Google Meet
507-301-7381

Tammy Sworsky
SFHS School Counselor - Last names P-Z
tammy.sworsky@isd15.org 
Click here to set up a Google Meet
763-307-4693

General Academic Tips
SFHS Virtual Chill Room
Free Yoga through the end of the school year

Caree Montague
SFHS Special Education School Social Worker
caree.montague@isd15.org
763-213-1537


St. Francis Learning Center (SFLC) & Crossroads School

Erica Campbell
SFLC School Counselor
erica.campbell@isd15.org
Email to set up a Google Meet
763-753-7148 (leave a voicemail)
Saints Academy Resources Website
Google Classroom: uiw4mbr
Schoology Page: 6TX8-RGJC-CRFW7

Caree Montague
SFHS, SFLC & Restore School Social Worker
caree.montague@isd15.org
763-213-1537 (leave a voicemail)

 

School Psychologists

Lisa Kastenbauer
SFES & SFMS School Psychologist
lisa.kastenbauer@isd15.org
763-213-8755

Karen Hamann
SFHS, EBES, SFLC & Crossroads School Psychologist
karen.hamann@isd15.org
763-213-1682 (leave a voicemail)

Tiffany Ranz
CCES, ECFC & Districtwide School Psychologist
tiffany.ranz@isd15.org
763-213-8833 (leave a voicemail) 

Lee Carlson Center

The Lee Carlson Center school-based program provides services including counseling, advocacy, education, and peer support group experiences in the northern suburbs.  

Services are offered in St. Francis Area Schools as well as five+ additional school districts, helping 2000+ in early learning centers, grades K-12 and alternative learning centers.

How can I receive these services?  

Reach out and contact with your site mental health support(s) located by site. 

Services vary from school-to-school and include: 

  • Mental Health assessments and referrals
  • Individual, group and/or family therapy
  • Resources to help youth develop daily living and social skills
  • Assistance for families to help them understand and better navigate the mental health system
  • Collaboration between our psychiatric staff and school-based teams
  • Peer Support Groups
  • Psychoeducation (topics vary)

Payment options- Lee Carlson Center accept all major insurances and may be able to use an income-based sliding fee scale for families with inadequate insurance and limited financial resources.  Talk to their team to learn how to qualify.