Main Menu

Explore More

Section 504

Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive Federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education (ED). Section 504 provides: "No otherwise qualified individual with a disability in the United States . . . shall, solely by reason of her or his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance…" (1)

Section 504 regulations require a school district to provide a "free appropriate public education" (FAPE) to each qualified student with a disability who is in the school district's jurisdiction, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability. Under Section 504, FAPE consists of the provision of regular or special education and related aids and services designed to meet the student's individual educational needs as adequately as the needs of nondisabled students are met. (1)

St. Francis Area Schools is committed to identifying and serving all students that qualify for the provisions available under section 504. Below are documents outlining 504 procedures specific to St. Francis Area Schools. Additional resources for parents and students are also included below. (1)

Source (1): US Department of Education

Section 504 Important Forms & Resources
Additional Section 504 Resources
School Contact Information

Early Childhood Family Center
Jennifer Dupre
763-753-7171
jennifer.dupre@isd15.org

Cedar Creek Elementary School
Shelly Gilmore
763-213-8781
shelly.gilmore@isd15.org

East Bethel Elementary School
Melissa Kivi
763-213-8901
melissa.kivi@isd15.org

St. Francis Elementary School
Ryan Johnson
763-213-8671
ryan.johnson@isd15.org

St. Francis Middle School
Lyndsey Pakola
763-213-8535
lindsey.pakola@isd15.org

St. Francis High School
Tammy Sworsky
763-213-1571
tammy.sworsky@isd15.org

Saints Academy, Saints Online, Guided Studies
Erica Campbell
763-753-7148
erica.campbell@isd15.org

Crossroads School
Amanda Heywood
763-753-7132
amanda.heywoood@isd15.org

Districtwide 504 Coordinator
Angela Scardigli
763-753-7037
angela.scardigli@isd15.org