Main Menu

Explore More

Section 504

Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive Federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education (ED). Section 504 provides: "No otherwise qualified individual with a disability in the United States . . . shall, solely by reason of her or his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance…" (1)

Section 504 regulations require a school district to provide a "free appropriate public education" (FAPE) to each qualified student with a disability who is in the school district's jurisdiction, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability. Under Section 504, FAPE consists of the provision of regular or special education and related aids and services designed to meet the student's individual educational needs as adequately as the needs of nondisabled students are met. (1)

St. Francis Area Schools is committed to identifying and serving all students that qualify for the provisions available under section 504. Below are documents outlining 504 procedures specific to St. Francis Area Schools. Additional resources for parents and students are also included below. (1)

Source (1): US Department of Education

Section 504 Important Forms & Resources
Additional Section 504 Resources
School Contact Information

Early Childhood Family Center
Jennifer Dupre
Phone: 763-753-7171
Email: jennifer.dupre@isd15.org

Cedar Creek Elementary School
Shelly Gilmore
Phone: 763-213-8781
Email: shelly.gilmore@isd15.org

East Bethel Elementary School
Angie Scardigli
Phone: 763-213-8901
Email: angela.scardigli@isd15.org

St. Francis Elementary School
Ryan Johnson
Phone: 763-213-8671
Email: ryan.johnson@isd15.org

St. Francis Middle School
Lyndsay Rynda
Phone: 763-213-8535
Email: lindsay.rynda@isd15.org

St. Francis High School
Tammy Sworsky
Phone: 763-213-1571
Email: tammy.sworsky@isd15.org

Saints Academy, Saints Online, Guided Studies
Erica Campbell
Phone: 763-753-7148
Email: erica.campbell@isd15.org

Crossroads School - Bar None
Amanda Heywood
Phone: 763-753-7132
Email: amanda.heywoood@isd15.org

Districtwide 504 Supervisor
Sonni Buerskin
Phone: 763-753-7013
Email: sonni.buerskin@isd15.org

Districtwide 504 Coordinator
Tim Finn, Director of Special Services
Phone: 763-753-7046
Email: tim.finn@isd15.org